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eligibility and APPLICATION 

(a)  To be eligible for an approval to practice independently as a CNM, an applicant shall:

(1)
submit a completed application for an approval to practice, attesting under oath or affirmation that the information on the application is true and complete, and authorizing the release to the Committee of all information pertaining to the application.

(2)
submit the approval to practice application fee as established in 90-178.4(b)(1) and Rule .0102 of this Section;

(3)
have an unencumbered RN license or privilege to practice in all jurisdictions in which a license is or has ever been held.

(4)
hold an active, unencumbered North Carolina RN license or privilege to practice;

(5)
hold an unencumbered CNM license or an approval to practice in all jurisdictions in which a license or an approval to practice is or has ever been held;

(6)
provide an official copy of the educational transcript and certificate from American Midwifery Certification Board and the full address of the practice location where the applicant intends to practice midwifery;

(7)
submit an attestation of completion of at least 24 months experience and 4,000 practice hours as a CNM. Documentation of successful completion of this requirement shall be provided to the Committee upon request; and

(8)
have no pending court conditions as a result of any misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). Applicant shall provide a written explanation and any investigative report or court documents evidencing the circumstances of the crime(s) if requested by the Committee. The Committee may use these documents when determining if an approval to practice should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-178.6. 
(b)  An applicant seeking an approval to practice with less than 24 months experience and 4,000 hours of practice as a CNM shall:

(1)
submit an application for an approval to practice, attesting under oath or affirmation that the information on the application is true and complete, and authorizing the release to the Committee of all information pertaining to the application. 
(2)
submit the approval to practice application fee as established in 90-178.4(b) and Rule .0102 of this Chapter;

(3)
hold an unencumbered license or privilege to practice in all jurisdictions in which a license is or has ever been held;

(4)
hold an active, unencumbered North Carolina RN license or privilege to practice;

(5)
hold an unencumbered CNM license or an approval to practice in all jurisdictions in which a license or an approval to practice is or has ever been held;

(6)
provide an official copy of the educational transcript and certificate from American Midwifery Certification Board and the full address of the practice location where the applicant intends to practice midwifery;

(7)
submit information identifying the collaborating provider with whom the applicant will collaborate;

(8)
have no pending court conditions as a result of any misdemeanor or felony conviction(s). Applicant shall provide a written explanation and any investigative report or court documents evidencing the circumstances of the crime(s) if requested by the Committee. The Committee may use these documents when determining if an approval to practice should be denied pursuant to G.S. 90-178.6.

(c)  When a CNM seeks independent practice, the CNM shall submit a new application for an approval to practice independently, attesting under oath or affirmation that the information on the application is true and complete, and authorizing the release to the Committee of all information pertaining to the application and required fee.

(d)  Applications are posted on the Board of Nursing's website at www.ncbon.com. The following information shall appear on the application:

(1)
the applicant's name, telephone number and email address;

(2)
the applicant's primary address of residence;

(3)
the educational degrees obtained by the applicant with the program name and completion date;

(4)
the number and expiration date of the applicant's national certification from the AMCB;

(5)
other professional or occupational licenses with the license number and jurisdiction in which the license was issued, if applicable;

(6)
the name, license number, telephone number, email address, and practice location of the collaborating provider, if applicable; and

(7)
the approval to practice number shall be provided on the application if the application is for the renewal or reinstatement of an existing approval to practice.
(e)  All educational transcripts and certification shall be submitted directly to the Board from the primary source.

(f)  In the event that any information required in accordance with this Rule should indicate a discrepancy in the application, an applicant may be required to appear in person for an interview with the Committee if the Committee determines in its discretion that more information is needed to evaluate the application.

History Note:
Authority G.S. 90-171.48; 90‑178.4(b); 90‑178.5; 

Eff. February 1, 1984;

Amended Eff. March 1, 2017; January 1, 1989;

Readopted Eff. November 1, 2018;

Amended Eff. April 1, 2020;
Temporary Amendment Eff. October 1, 2023.
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